Poets logo

Touching Sides

Goodbye.

By Olivia PichePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The day your touch told me the story of goodbye

my heart ached for our pillows that had spent years side by side.

we were young.

And you knew that i didn’t sleep well

so you told me to bring my pillow to yours

and from then on,

mine; thin and light became one with yours; elevated and hardened.

they’d become one the same moment we had.

They knew the secrets we told each other moments before fluttering eyelids seized.

no one was listening but us.

and them.

They caught my tears when i told you of the monster that came before you,

and held the pain that resonated when you spoke of missing your dad.

They had to be washed several times over the years as they took in the sweat of our love, the drool of our real, and even blood from the time you rolled over and hit me in the face.

Our pillows were bound to each other through the layers of laughter they’d soaked up and the whispered “i love yous” they held on to.

they hugged us separately on the nights we fought and let us go in the mornings when we were ready.

The day your touch told me the story of goodbye

I looked around at the packed boxes until my eyes wandered past yours, singing the same sad song of separation,

and finally my eyes reached our bed.

The honesty in the spilling sheets.

how sacred that space once was; still is.

until finally, my eyes reached the pillows

touching sides,

as they always have.

how unfair it is to separate those who have only been kind and loyal.

–separation is easy for no one

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.