Poets logo

Dream Forced Powers

Defy Physics

By Suntonu BhadraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dream Forced Powers
Photo by Ayko Neil Kehl on Unsplash

At the dawn of a particular day

energy depleted cells asked for a resting place

and my sofa welcomed me to embrace its soft touches

‘ash-colored throws’ invited to cover me,

although not forced by these attractive gestures,

eventually, I found myself centered within,

to keep me floating on the livelihood

to continue living for another day.

Soft cushions cared for me with a gentle feel

my eyes began to shut down

the noise went to numbness

lights disappeared

the whole world came to a standstill motion

gradually.

Suddenly, I found myself over the snowy mountain,

trees bent, leaves left the branches,

no people, no birds chirping, no vehicles blowing their horns,

no artificial lights, except the deemed sun-light

coming as a white-ball hanging on the sky canvas,

iced paths to the other mountains — dangerous and challenging to adhere

and the sound of a stag

I gazed upon it,

she stood with its golden horns, glittering body,

drinking water from a sparkling fountain

beside the mountain valley across

fountain not frozen, steamed water coming through the rocks,

the vapors covered the place, a play of shadows in the white background,

asked me to join.

I did; I took a small leap

and realized I was over the ground by a foot or so.

Flying!

I took another leap of faith,

jumped towards the valley from my mountain

towards the fountain, as if I could fly,

I felt the earth moved-

Yes, flying!

Felt like Superman, gliding in the sky

in a smooth motion of tranquility

with the newly found flight ability that I wished for long.

I flew to the valley,

the elegant stag looked onto my face,

and kept doing its chores,

Oops, I saw a bear now, crawling slowly, smoothly

to crush us, me and the stag,

I shouted to it, the bear frightened and walked away

‘Am I the black canary now!’ Felt like it.

The stag looked into my eyes in compassion, saying thank you

and then I felt the motion

a sudden appearance of a polar hole, on the ground I was standing

I jumped again to try my new-found superman hoop,

to realize nothing special to come out,

I was falling again inside the snowy white hole

my senses numbed,

I felt oxygen less, hopeless, and fearful of death.

I tried to shout; no words came out,

I tried to grab the nearby stones and ice-cubes, my hands couldn’t function

I cried to the stag for help, but it was just a stag, you know.

I woke up at last.

Damn! Sleep paralysis happened again.

[Originally published in Medium]

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Suntonu Bhadra

Travel storyteller, photographer, history enthusiast, poetic scribbler ▪ Editor of Paper Poetry ▪ I have started writing on Vocal recently.

Contents & connects: √ MediumInstagramYouTubeTwitterEtsy Store

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.