Poets logo

DreamAway

Expressions Of Me

By Amanda SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"My Passion Escapes Me"

I watch them work; methodically, casually, carefully, without effort or thought

Like they know something I don’t know Coming straight from my heart

I pick up my shears, my string, yarn, and hoop

And they’re off, no stopping now, the moment of truth

A Creation underway, oh beautiful bliss

How will I like it? How will it turn out? Will it be everything I thought? Or will I have doubt?

An artist’s questions themselves till there’s no end

“We are our own worst critic” is something I once read, Or was it something someone once said?

What I start with in my mind isn’t what I end up with in my hands most of the time

Unravel it, start over, this time I will show ya

My mind picked the colors, how lovely they are

What will match, what feels right, a concept, a thought

They are different, every single one Like the webs that sparkle wet from the dew in the sun

Such tiny things, bold and delicate to say the least

My small hands creating such big things

They cut the little tiny pieces of strings

Wrap around, wrap around, Wrap around they go Around and around, coming from the depths of my soul

Spinning and spinning, no stopping them now I couldn’t stop if I wanted to, I wouldn’t know how

For in this place of creation is pure tranquility My hands take over, there is no thought from “me”

My art comes from a place deep down inside It comes pouring out, overflowing, and I have found peace in my mind

Meditate, meditate, inside and out

Around the hoop, back in, around the hoop back in All the time putting in hopes for the person(s)

Who will have my art alongside their beds Maybe on a wall or hanging over their heads

It Brings such happiness oh, not for just you but for myself as well

To think that I doubted, my hands under some spell

The wrap is done now on to the web Patterns and ideas pop up all in my head

Should I do it simple, plain, or just “ordinary”

Someone might like that.. It’s what they know, what they are used to see

(Ing) is what I think but in a flash the thought is gone

My hands work quickly making a melody into a song

No more thoughts to be had, just actions, they come fast They grab the scissors and cut just the right length

Too little a piece won’t work, it won’t do Too much will show on the backside making it difficult too

Now that it’s cut, I’m ready let’s go On to the next part my hands know what to do

Spinning my webs, hoping good dreams come to you Around and around, I get to the center

It’s small, tiny, and a little hard to see or Maybe it’s my aging eyes that make it harder for me

Push it through, turn around, the webs finally done It’s not plain, it’s not simple, or “ordinary”

It’s Magic, it’s amazing, and it’s created by me

Add on the beads, not the plastic kind The ones with metaphysical properties to help open your mind

The ones that help you stay grounded when you sleep I’m talking of hematite or maybe some black tourmaline

Pushing the strings through them and tying the ends With a little snip here they’re done and the feathers begin

What a beautiful collection I have to go through

Maybe some macaw (so pretty the bright yellow and blue)

Pheasants feathers are long and delicate too An array of colors, they come in all hues

Quail or Ostrich to round out the bunch Maybe some small winged quills for a finishing touch. Secure them with glue… but not too much

At the end of it all the final last piece A stone cabochon attached for healing energy

Finishing touches, deliberate and fine Delicate and bold something divine

Creating, creating is where I find peace in my mind But I forgot to mention what it is that I do

I capture your dreams at night Spinning the webs to keep you safe

Catch the bad and let the good drip down at their own pace

Spinning and spinning, Weaving away, My tiny cut strings and my hands free at play

Almost done, Just a little more, Getting the webs tight so you can endure

A peaceful nap, a slumber, sweet rest

If I dare say my hands move, my mind not knowing what’s next A trance like state

Spinning today

Sleep well my dear I’ll take you worries away

Rest easy tonight close your eyes, please rest

Look at the dreamcatcher I did my very best.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.