Poets logo

Drawn away from feeling okay

Poem: The Feels Series

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Drawn away from feeling okay
Photo by Pascal Habermann on Unsplash

I can't call my mom because I don't want her to hear the sadness in my voice,

I don't want to talk to my best friend, because I don't want my sadness and concern to overtake her day,

I don't want to include my boyfriend because I don't want to feel the obligation of feeling the need to communicate,

I want to turn my phone on airplane mode,

Maybe even turn it off,

Go back to bed, and let myself feel lost,

I want to take an edible to slow everything down,

Where all I can do is taste the simplicity of food,

and laugh at funny sounds,

I want to throw myself into work, because that is something I can control,

But I dread every moment it's time to leave and open the doors,

I want my anxiety to be heard, but left alone,

Understood and known, without the expectation of making sense of it,

I want to be allowed to be envelop in myself,

Without it seeming like a cry out for help,

I want to disappear within my mind,

Without being trapped within the senselessness that it tends to find,

I want to feel daily structure without the absence of what is missing,

I want to be able to feel whole without missing the feeling of kissing,

I want to wake up and see the opportunity in the day,

Instead of the reasons why the bed is where I should stay,

I want to feel the excitement to future plans and being alive,

I want to feel like I don't desire to be drawn away,

To hide from the home within myself,

I want to feel okay with being okay.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.