Poets logo

Dragon's Breath

He is all red all the time

By AprilPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Dragon's Breath
Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

It was the color covering my newborn skin the first time we met.

It was the color his face flushed deeper as the bottles drained dry.

It was the color of the yelling splattered messily on all our walls.

It is the color he always painted his knuckles with another man’s face.

It is how hot the whiskey river rapids burned floating down his throat.

It is the flame of anger in his tone,

When I realize my father is the dragon, not the prince.

It is the blood pooling on my limbs while I try to carve out the past from my present.

It is the bloodshot morning path in his eyes trying to tell the story of last night's black out.

It is the color of the sirens saving us by taking him.

It is my hot and sweaty face wide awake from another nightmare.

It is the rhubarb in Grandma's pies on the days she kept us safe.

It is the color of my heartache, mourning what I never had.

It is the passion that drives me to be better than my Dad.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

April

I've loved reading and writing for as long as I can remember. I feel the most content holding a book while laying in the sun. I'm the author of a poetry collection 'Lungs Like Elephants'

@lungslikeelephants

@lemondropinkshop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.