Poets logo

Downtown Portland

Maine

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo credit to Lauren Sawyer Photography

Downtown Portland

Maine

Sitting outside in the sun.

It’s almost 70 degrees today!

I smoked a joint

Talked on the phone.

I’ve written three poems now.

It’s Spring!!

Ya.

Car after car going by;

GMC, Jeep, Honda, BMW, more GMC’s and Rams.

This will worsen as it turns to summertime, tourist season.

Maine has the best summers.

Nothing will beat Main Summers.

Car after car I watch.

I people watch too.

Runners,

Couples,

Singles

The pro lifers leaving their weekly blabbering.

Kids and parents, bikers.

And even elderly.

Everyone is out today.

This is a diverse city, sort of. Not really but kind off.

I’ll definitely get some much needed vitamin D sitting outside in the sun this long,

City watching, so much is happening today, I don't want to miss it.

I also see many of my neighbors too.

We look out for one another.

They'll always look after you too, once they get to know you.

Because that's what we’re supposed to do in the city.

Gain a family and look after one another

That’s what we do in in my city

-ej

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.