Poets logo

dont worry be happy

eyes start to blink

By balamuruganPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

A Yupik Elder asked me once of an illness he had found

Affecting all the Gussuck folk that he had been around.

“Why do they chase the dollar so? What is this strange disease?

Whatever are they striving for? What does it take to please?’

I answered that I did not know the causes nor the cure.

But Affluenza is the name and it’s an ill for sure.

He looked at me with wisdom’s eye and shared his culture’s lore.

“Money’s like fish, when you run out, go out and catch some more.”

He paused and added with a smile, “Too much can lead to strife,

Money’s like fish, you have too much—it spoils, stinks up your life.”

Bloom

I want to tell you

about the sunflower I found

on the sidewalk yesterday.

It is wilting and curled and gorgeous

and knows it.

I want to age like that,

never forgetting my own beauty,

never forgetting how to say bloom

Thank you for reading!

social commentaryvintageperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fictionchildrens poetryart
1

About the Creator

balamurugan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.