Poets logo

Don't Take Me for a Moron

Otherwise that will come back on YOU

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

you’re just a baby

you’re nothing to me

you will never amount to anything

your book is a fail, you’ll never become successful

just quit, this isn’t the path for you

you’re too occupied with this, go do something else instead

fuck all that, i ain’t listening to all that shit you say about me anymore

it’s been done, over with now

i bet it’s putting you to shame to see me succeeding

everything you see in me you see in yourself, wishing that was you

down the road, you got derailed

so now you wanna derail me, fuck you

don’t take me for a moron

Jaheim said that age ain’t a factor

let me tell you what is, my ethic

i’ve done more than what you could think of, so keep on belittling me

just mad that you haven’t done anything

or are too afraid to so you allow that same guilt to swell you cuz’ it invalidates your existence, purpose

i had enough of the clown shit, i got some pies i’m finna chuck at all of you

if no one wants to believe in me, that’s fine

long as i believe in myself, then i can keep going

go places beyond the one that i grew up in

i’m penning books on streets that niggas got gunned down on

my ancestors didn’t sacrifice their freedom for nothing

i’m fleshing out their craziest dreams, count on me to continue the legacy

whatever it takes is whatever it takes,

i’m not going to allow you to stop me

Maliki Raymond left behind that scholarship for me, now i’m on my way to Kean University

i’m going to show the world that the son of Yom is no slouch, so

you can continue to say whatever you want to

don’t take me for a moron

i’m smarter than you think, you can’t believe how fine i am now

don’t take me for a moron,

your stigma will no longer stop savage writer

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.