Poets logo

Don’t settle on your past

It doesn’t define you. You do.

By Devona Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Don’t settle on your past
Photo by Rajesh Rajput on Unsplash

Feeling

Torn

Broken

Helpless

Falling down

In a pit

Of emotional darkness

Cutting

Bleeding

Bruising

I’m not strong enough

Nor brave enough

Not worthy enough

To peel him away

I lay there

Pinned down

Utterly useless

And afraid

Hours and hours

Left in the dark

Screaming

No help came

Fighting

I wasn’t strong enough

Crying

By myself

Powerless

Defenseless

Ashamed

Why must I feel this way?

It’s not my fault

Why do I feel guilty?

Identity

Stripped away

Friends

Abandoned

“Oh look there’s that whore”

“Watch out she might get you next”

I was tainted

Done with

No one could ever want that

I’ve been thrown away

Like a trophy to be won

And then to just sit and collect dust

Abused

Left forgotten

Left used.

Where I remained

Broken.

That is until

I

Met

You.

Fearful

Brave

Strong

Stood in the gap for me

Everything I could have ever wanted

Resides with you

Caring

Loving

Kind-hearted

Boy, I’ve only dreamed of someone like you

He buys me flowers

He brushes my hair

He treats me like a princess

Even when I didn’t think I was worth it

From abused

To used

To Broken

To crushed

Now restored

To whole

To beautiful

To loved

To worthy

Thank you, my love

For teaching me how to trust and for showing me who I am. I could never thank you enough for choosing to fight for me every single day.

To my handsome husband, my knight in shining armor, my Prince Charming I am forever yours and you are forever mine

I love you, always 💜

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Devona

Hey! Welcome to my blog where I write depressing poems and psychological horror stories…yikes.

Subscribe and Follow if you like getting creepy vibes if you know what I mean 😉

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Devona Written by Devona

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.