Poets logo

Don't Die

It's here

By Nneka CallwoodPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

You think that I am stone, when I have always been the river.

I'll pour my waters over you, if it will help you to deliver.

The goodness that's inside of you, that arrow in your quiver.

Aim your bow and aim it high,

You ain't never been a quitter!

You ain't never been a quitter!

You ain't never been a quitter!

And its never getting better.

~ ~ ~

Unless you want it to.

I got news for you.

Change doesn't come when you're feeling blue.

Change doesn't come when you're feeling yellow.

Change only comes when you let it in.

Change only comes when the pain of being the same,

Outweighs the fear, the fear of change.

And your old skin squeezes so tight,

That you feel like you might die,

And you can't breathe in,

And you can't breathe out,

And your mouth is gaping but you cannot shout,

And you tear at the flesh because its keeping you in,

And you would rather be vulnerable than safe in it,

And when the vultures come to pick your bones clean,

Through the devouring you come out redeemed.

Through the devouring you come out redeemed.

~ ~ ~

So, I ask that you swallow me, oh great maw,

And make use of the body that I could not.

I ask that you transform my fragmented soul,

into something resembling whole.

I ask that you deliver me, oh great God,

and make use of the deliverance that I have sought.

I ask for the strength to endure the change,

And the strength to resist staying the same.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Callwood

Just a tree, planted by the rivers of waters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.