Poets logo

Does Aging Give You Comfort?

Are you crazy, some would say or blurt!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago β€’ 2 min read
Does Aging Give You Comfort?
Photo by Ksenia Emelianchik on Unsplash

Pablo Picasso said: "Youth has no age."

and just how do you gauge?

Youthful energy

a belief in synergy

interest in others; curiosity

generosity

a positive attitude

an attitude of gratitude

a lifelong learner

learning from a beginner

this person won't get old

this person is pure gold!

πŸ’š

What is the alternative, death some say

no not me, I'm not ready for that today!

It could be a miserable life

full of strife

not something we want for each other

not for you or others brother!

We want happiness and comfort

with little to no discomfort!

We want our life to be like a fine wine

getting better with time

and so sublime!

πŸ’™

Memories are the greatest

reminders to do our very best

remembering our children as they grew up

having grandchildren is such a gift to fill your cup!

When I hit 55, I was then and am now served at feasts.

Then someone will bring me fish and other eats,

sage, cedar, sweet grass, and other treats!

Aging has definite benefits

even though most can no longer do the splits!

πŸ’œ

When getting older you are not so concerned

about many things that burned

you when younger; about size as it is okay

with you, no matter if too thin or the other way

I can eat dark chocolate

and not worry about the calories or let

the scale be the judge

of me. I hold no grudge

as I let them go

a long time ago!

πŸ’›

Aging gives me comfort and contentment

I can work or not in retirement

I do not have to worry about bills

I still think about too many pills

and all the ills!

Most of the time, I let others worry

and for most things, there is no hurry!

I will get there when I get there!

🧑

I am okay with my greying hair!

There are young ones with grey in their hairdo

I used to like the older ladies with hair of blue

Now it is the younger ones that have that hair, they do.

Comfort is where I am at. I want comfort at this age!

All I think about is how I love this life stage!

I want every night to be Friday

night and every day to be Saturday

Comfort is retirement and working part-time today!

❀️

inspirational

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Mark E. Cutter2 years ago

    I love aging so much I even skipped the graying hair part and went straight to white! I also loved your poem.

  • The thought of retirement definitely brings comfort. Awesome poem!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice, young people now a day like to color their hair gray,so true

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Definitely comfort in aging!!! Loving it!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.