Poets logo

Comfort Can Come To You As Early As Your Late Twenties, Or Early Thirties!

How could that be and why would it be, no worries!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago ā€¢ 2 min read
Comfort Can Come To You As Early As Your Late Twenties, Or Early Thirties!
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I am a woman in long term recovery!

I made a discovery

way back when

at age twenty-four and then

šŸŒø

at age twenty-six I made a move

to begin a new life out of the groove

I was in

to take a spin

šŸŒŗ

into a life without alcohol and drugs!

I put myself into a new life of hugs!

I learned about the family illness

that I grew up in and moved toward wellness!

šŸŒ»

I am sixty-eight this year,

it doesn't seem possible to be this old dear,

I will have 44 years of recovery from the family disease

and 42 years without alcohol and drugs to ease

šŸŒ·

my suffering in life as today I am happy, joyous and free

it was a promise made a long time ago, and you know it is for me

along with a dozen other promises that keep me doing what I need to do

for one day at a time as that is all any of us has to go through.

šŸµļø

It is recovery month, the same month I celebrate my recovery and others

I have many, many sisters and brothers

that walk with me

and you know there are many more that don't make it as you see

šŸŒø

without recovery, many will die

and I don't lie, you know this as well as I

jails, institutions, and death are what we have to look forward to without

a change, why not recover as it is the easier, softer way, there's no doubt!

šŸŒŗ

I drank when pregnant and impacted my child's life

I didn't with number two but was in withdrawal with a lot of strife

My children do not remember me drinking

They joined me in recovery, as I was thinking

šŸŒ»

wouldn't it be a good thing to break the chain of addiction

and we were able to change some things, with a little friction.

I grew up with trauma, abuse, loss and more

Living life without my medication helped me to deal which was a chore

šŸŒ·

at times, and we made it through. I dealt with the loss and more as

I wanted a better life for my children. I have grandchildren and this has

me wishing for a better future for them too. I now have

comfort that is love and it has given us time to live life, to cry and laugh.

šŸµļø

My mother died the day between my two recovery birthday

My sister died on my family recovery day

Because of this, I now celebrate all month long

come celebrate with me, and we will sing a song!

inspirational

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    impressive and inspirational!!!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.