Poets logo

We Were Friends First You See

Number three is the charm for me! What a comfort is he!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
My comfort. A good laugh with my hubby, the charmer

My coworker said, "I have been married twice and that is enough!"

I thought that his marriages must have been rough

"I just want female friends now, that I can go golfing with,

or to a movie, or that can be the plus one, or is that a myth?"

he said to me. Gee, let's try it. I don't want to date but I

would sure like to spend time over a meal with a friend I see eye to eye

with! Can this work?

💛

I am not interested in finding a jerk.

Some guy that doesn't know how to work.

I know a few guys that I think maybe fun.

They can pay for a meal out and I can cook one.

I will put you on my list for sure then.

I knew I was not at all attracted to him when

we worked together.

💜

He golfed and so did I in any weather.

We spoke the same language and that was groovy

and we both liked the same kind of movie

We could see going to an event together

And catching a quick bite whether

it was fast food or restaurant, and he knew how to play whist

So I decided to put a few more on my list!

💙

The next one appeared perfect,

and he was interested in the prospect,

he was divorced and had a motorcycle to get about

I wanted one and he could help me scope that out

We had recovery in common and I liked that

ten years wasn't twenty, but it was better than what?

Better than not having any recovery.

I had made that discovery

with numbers one and two

Like my co-worker, I thought two was enough too!

💚

So what happened after a few months of friends only?

You know it didn't work for me and he. We got lonely

and started to date. It was seven months away from my marriage

for me and at least it didn't include a baby carriage.

We have lived happily now for twenty-two years.

I think of how it could have been different and I come to tears.

I am with my soulmate and won't believe there is anyone

else for me or he. Happily ever after is what we expect. We are done

having found the perfect one!

❤️

love poems

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely and loving it!!!💖💕

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.