Poets logo

Doctor Bird on a Winter's Day

a pantoum

By Randy BakerPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Doctor Bird on a Winter's Day
Photo by Nahele Campbell on Unsplash

I owe that Doctor Bird an apology.

Icicles drip from his long, streamer tails.

Alone, perched against a snowy backdrop.

Never mind that he is carved from a coconut husk.

*

Icicles drip from his long, streamer tails.

What Doctor Bird could deserve such a fate?

Never mind that he is carved from a coconut husk.

He is out of place here. I see that clearly now.

*

What Doctor Bird could deserve such a fate?

Dangling from a string on my back porch,

He is out of place here. I see that clearly now.

I should have known from the start.

*

Dangling from a string on my back porch,

Alone, perched against a snowy backdrop.

I should have known from the start.

I owe that Doctor Bird an apology.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Author's Note: This poem was first published in 2020, in The Caribbean Writer, Vol. 34 (USVI).]

Pantoum

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💞💕💗💖👍

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.