Poets logo

Do You See Me

I miss you but I'll be okay

By Love, NellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
Do You See Me
Photo by M. on Unsplash

do you see

the way the sky dances

in my eyes

*

do you hear

the sound of hope

which rings in my voice

*

do you feel

the pain in my bones

which never relents

*

do you see me?

do you hear me?

do you feel me?

*

i'm the person you loved

when i was well.

the same person that was

easy to love.

*

i'm the person you laughed with

when laughing was easy,

and happiness

was readily

found

for me.

*

i'm the person you whispered

loving words to

before i was bedbound.

*

the same person you promised

to be with

as i faced a new

and scary future

with

illness.

*

i'm the same person

that i've always been.

*

i have the same hopes,

same heart,

same voice,

same humanity.

*

oh yes,

while i have changed

in what i can do,

i am still the same person

on the inside

that you once loved

and knew.

*

i want you to know

that i heard your whispers of doubt

and saw the judgment in your eyes.

*

i know you stopped believing

me

long ago.

*

i will be okay without you,

i will heal on my own.

*

in the end

i'm not the one who

changed.

*

you changed.

you stopped caring

because it got harder

for you to spend time

with me

the way we used to.

*

i will be okay.

*

without your support;

like a phoenix

i will rise.

*

or not.

*

but, i will be okay.

*

i don't need you

but

i miss you.

inspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Love, Nell

Words about chronically ill bodies and the hope that's found in the hard seasons of one's journey. Poetry and journal entries about experiences with chronic illness, love, raising children while ill, and finding purpose in my pain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.