Poets logo

Do you know that fight

Knowing but jumping anyway

By E.B. MahoneyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Do you know that fight
Photo by Dave Phillips on Unsplash

What if I said you can’t be fixed.

But if you could, would you want it?

You can fall in love with the cracks

Where the ivy vines grow.

*

And there is a beauty in the rubble.

And strength in what can be built from broken stones.

What if I said the pain was worth it?

And that laughter would come again.

*

What if we’re the lucky ones to suffer?

That it shouldn’t happen, but it does.

Because that’s what we can take.

So that is what was given.

*

And what if I see you,

And choose you anyway.

The one who gives and takes no excuses.

What if I trust you?

*

And what if you show everything,

And all they do is stay.

Would you see the truth,

Even if it hurt worse than the lies?

*

Do you see the point of it, to suffer?

Or has it turned your heart wary?

For some, in the end they’re still breathing,

But forgotten what it is to live.

*

What if there is rest one day.

There always was a place in my garden for you.

Whether you choose me or not,

There is treasure in what some call weeds.

*

Do you know that fight

To choose someone

Perhaps for a little too long in the end?

Knowing but jumping anyway.

*

What if I was content in knowing,

After all the hours and years,

That I didn’t fight for nothing

And that I didn’t love less for fear.

*

And I’ll meet your eye because sometimes

Love is letting someone go.

Would you say maybe someday,

If I can be content with never?

*

I see you

with your back against the sky.

If you hurt me, I let it.

And I’ll try not to fall for what could be, again.

social commentarylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

E.B. Mahoney

Aspiring author, artist, and sleep deprived student. Based in Australia, E.B. Mahoney enjoys climbing trees, playing a real-world version of a fictional sport, and writing in the scant spare time she has left.

Instagram

Pax tecum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.