Poets logo

Do you

Remember?

By Amanda McGuirePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Do you
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Before our first date.. you said you didn’t think we’d ever run out of things to talk about.. but the hard part was going to be the end of the night… not wanting to say goodbye. I wonder if you remember that.

When you messaged me that first time I wasn’t looking to fall for you. I’d come to terms that maybe no one would ever truly love me. But you saw me, you see me. The real me.

You see the girl that’s sensitive, and overthinks. You know when something is a problem before I say it. You see the headstrong stubborn woman who’s protective and jealous.

Before that night there was a little ember burning inside me… that you’ve carefully and continuously brought into full flame.

You were right when you said that hardest part would be when the date was over. For me at least it’s still holds true.

You promised me you could make me laugh… a promise you’ve kept for nearly 14 months now.

I worry a lot, that what’s been amazing in my eyes is not the same in yours. I just hope that I make you even a tenth as happy as I feel when I’m with you. I hope you want to grow our relationship. I fear that my dreams for us are not what you had in mind.

I guess all of that is pretty normal for a girl who’s never known a healthy relationship. When you’re here with me it quiets the doubt.

Lately I am hit with random moments where I am overcome with one thought…. “Fuck. I love him.”

In those moments I want to hear your voice, to tell you. But I try not to bother you, I’m scared I’m too much.

I hope you still remember what you said… and I often wonder, do you still wish it will never end?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.