Poets logo

Do It Yourself

And let the world burn

By Alaric A. StrykerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is a Father? If not someone who thinks of a mere concept of something that could be wrong with you, before you even exist, and abandons you on the spot?

What is a Mother? If not someone who will show you unbridled love and affection one moment, but treat you like the bane of her existence the next?

What is a Grandmother? If not someone who wants you to think she loves you, but really wants you dead?

Who are Aunts and Uncles? If not more people hurt by this cycle?

Who is a Grandfather? A Step-Father? If not people you watched TV with and nothing more?

What is a Family? If not a constant reminder that you were never supposed to exist?

They say that when you are born into a burning house, you are led to believe that the whole world is on fire.

But I was not.

I was born into a long line of burning houses, surrounded on all sides by others.

But when I looked up at the sky I knew in my heart of hearts that the flameless homes on TV weren't just Fairytales.

I knew that there was no way the whole world could be on fire, even if mine was.

So I was raised in burning houses, and the only rule was to never tell anyone it was on fire.

So over some years I learned to lie to keep my Mother safe.

No matter how many houses were lit ablaze, no matter how many burning hands I was given to.

And in that time I learned two more things.

Fear and Anger.

Everyone is full of rage, so use your fear to hide away.

And with those lessons under my belt I was finally old enough to go to school.

What are Friends? If not misunderstandings that think of you like a mosquito or less?

What is a Friend? If not a lie, told to you for some cruel joke?

Who are others? If not beings that will ultimately, regardless of your actions, hate you for simply existing as you are?

What is the world if not a place to be afraid of?

A place to Hate?

A place to Love?

People say that Villains are made, not born.

But I will always believe I was born to be the Villain of this story.

What other purpose might I serve?

I’d be a boring hero, a terrible support, and no one would ever want me as their love interest.

And so the Villain was the only role left to play.

And even though some might say that love is enough to give someone a change of heart, it never once changed mine.

If anything, love is what truly made me the Villain.

After years upon years of giving love, the once I received it was enough to make me want to set the world on fire just to keep them warm.

There is to be born into a burning house, but then there is to be born a flame.

A sizzling burning anger sits at my very core, and always has.

And yet they love it.

And yet they hold me closer still, just so my flame can warm them.

I would burn the world for you, so that I could rebuild a worthy one from the ashes.

A world worth loving.

A world worth you.

And so to this day my anger, my flame, makes me a Villain.

Because this world should be better.

And as they say,

If you want a job done right, do it yourself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alaric A. Stryker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.