Poets logo

do all lovers feel like they're inventing something?

after The Portrait of a Lady on Fire (dir. Céline Sciamma)

By Mesh ToraskarPublished 11 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
30
a beautiful shot from 'The Portrait of a Lady on Fire'

inventing a prayer that begins without a

please

inventing a god that

forgives

painting a portrait -

on fire

with each brush stroke

I do naught but forget

e v e r y one

in the flames

red

is nothing but the

sky fallen onto

your lips

so close to mine

sweating wine

I can taste your sighs

between my teeth

& I promise fireflies

flickering

are just lovers

remembering.

your tongue

tastes of liquid sunshine

your words therefore

a golden honey river,

sweetening

my veins

when I tell you

I have arms only wide enough

to gather your name

I mean in my hurry to love you,

I forgot to say -

Amen Amen Amen

and absolution passed through me -

untouched.

little did I know, god saw in us a heaven

destined to fail

I abandoned my hope

in spring - a poet’s choice

thankfully, Vivaldi also composed ‘summer’

and all I ever wanted was

to be there

with you.

to build a burning house

of what’s left

of your memory

and walk into it ablaze

so do all poets feel like they’re inventing something?

"yes"

***

Vocal is not optimised for formatted poetry and I believe the formatting in this poem plays a very important role, so if you want to check how it was originally meant to be, see below:

page 1

page 2

***

Thank you for reading. Cinema is a big part of my life and when a film like Portrait of a Lady on Fire comes along, it becomes indelibly etched within my consciousness. I have thought about this film at least twice a week since I first saw it back in 2019. Director Céline Sciamma meticulously shapes this cinematic gem, evoking a sensation akin to gazing into a mesmerizing bonfire—wherein one drifts away yet remains fully immersed. Every flicker of the flame captivates, with just one distinction - unlike the bonfire, this film will guarantee to bring tears to the eyes. If there's one thing I urge you to take away from this, let it be this film as a recommendation.

If you enjoyed this, you might like my other pieces too, do check them out.

sad poetrysurreal poetrylove poemsart
30

About the Creator

Mesh Toraskar

A wannabe storyteller from London. Sometimes words spill out of me and the only way to mop the spillage is to write them down.

"If you arrive here, remember, it wasn't you - it was me, in my longing, who found you."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Just gorgeous, Mesh. Well done.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    Really nice poem and format

  • Jack Wayne Arnett11 months ago

    loved it!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is beyond beautiful. So very well done. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Ziv Agami11 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • Very well done! Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • Andrzej Zieliński11 months ago

    Powerful!

  • Naveedkk 11 months ago

    Well Written My Dear...... Great One.......Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    Gorgeous poem. Your words sweep up the heart and then carry it along safely. Looking forward to seeing the film that inspired such warm and soulful art. Congratulations on top story too!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    YES! I’d hoped this would get their attention. 👏👏👏 That Discord recommendation thread really works! Congrats, Mesh!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    That was so beautiful! The formatting definitely added to the experience for me.

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    I wish the formatting was better for sure! I loved your poem! 🥰

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Mesh, this is an extraordinary poem! I watched the film and really likes it.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fantastic & loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!@❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    I thought this was absolutely beautiful. Fantastic writing.

  • Awesome Writing ❤️📝 Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    This is so wonderful. I loved the line "I abandoned my hope/ in spring - a poet’s choice/ thankfully, Vivaldi also composed ‘summer’". I literally GASPED. Fantastic work. You gained a new subscriber, and I'm looking forward to reading more

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    This is an amazing sensory experience, Mesh. I'm in awe of your words. "red is nothing but the sky fallen onto your lips so close to mine sweating wine I can taste your sighs between my teeth" Wow. To taste sighs between teeth...that is a gorgeously rich description of intimacy and love. I LOVE that. Also, "little did I know, god saw in us a heaven destined to fail I abandoned my hope in spring - a poet’s choice thankfully, Vivaldi also composed ‘summer’" This bit of the narrative is just beautiful. Imagining the speaker being forced to leave the relationship, but seeing their life go on...but the way you did it, by referencing Vivaldi's Summer is just an amazing choice. So much sensory details within that single reference, so much emotion to match it. Wonderful work, as always. I'm sorry I didn't engage with this 10 days ago when you published it! ❤️ PS: Do a little research on invisible characters and try experimenting with them when you post a poem that has unique formatting. I've been able to publish empty lines and multiple spaces to indent lines and space letters out. On my Mac, I do Alt (Option) + spacebar to achieve this, but depending on your computer, you may need a numerical code.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    ''your lips so close to mine sweating wine'' - Perfect description of a desire you cannot control. Excellent work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.