Poets logo

Distant Land

A faraway escape

By Josie Del VallePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I dream of thee in distant sea, safe land which I may gaze on,

I may be wrong led by sirens song, to think I felt you calling.

In your harbor I must, hope to trust, that I may pour my deepest soul.

But with skies a grey, I do delay, for storms that'll overthrow me.

Call to me, Scream my name into the winds howling,

Reach out your hand, call on demand, my fears to come forth undaunted.

The crystal blue that crashes into you, threatens to knock me down,

And amongst the mist, I fear to admit, my cries will be lost rather than found.

I haul to thee, great rock of the sea, the emotional baggage that weighs me,

And thrust upon your rocks, I pray the truth unlocks, in a tandem both serene, and unbound.

Your isolation is a connotation to what you are, and what I need,

A small escape, to get away, be released, and feel the real me.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Josie Del Valle

I'm a down to earth person, as anyone else. My writings come from moments in time that have inspired me. These are thoughts I dare not utter out loud. My writings are not for everyone, and they were not meant to be. They simply are me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.