Poets logo

Distant Apologies

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Distant Apologies
Photo by Paul Streltsov on Unsplash

I’m truly sorry

If I threw

our precious friendship

down the dirty drain.

I’m truly sorry

you believed

I slammed the doors

in your face.

There were things

you did that

made me bleed inexorably,

and I couldn’t

vocalize the excruciating pain

to you.

Yes,

I did things

in return,

because I was

severed, kicked and punched

in the face and gut

with your words and actions.

My strength

was stolen.

I got it back

and I’m grateful for that.

My peace

was snatched from me.

I’ve reclaimed it

and nobody

will take it from me,

ever!

You deserve

the benefit of the doubt.

You’ve earned back

my respect, dignity and kindness.

That’s why

I want to give you

a distant apology.

By Austin Tate on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read this free verse poem I wrote. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, comment, share it with others, and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG Profile: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.