Poets logo

Disenchanted Evening

The Loss of What Was Never Hers

By Meredith LeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

The pulse of me that began to race

Was a libertine thrill of somatic delight,

When first I saw your radiant face.

Shallow, my breath, in unsteady pace,

Shuttered to preserve, as your laugh lanced the night,

The pulse of me that began to race.

Your hair shone delicate as leavers lace,

Your eyes glistened darkly in study of light,

When first I saw your radiant face.

Across the room I orbited space,

Adrift in severance of what first gripped me tight:

The pulse of me that began to race.

Unseeing, your eyes, but for his grace;

Unknowing, your heart, to the pain of my plight,

When first I saw your radiant face.

My passion left but a lingering trace,

Morbidly quick amid first flight,

The pulse of me that began to race,

When first I saw your radiant face.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Meredith Lee

Meredith Lee is a Queer fiction writer from the Pacific North West who loves to read and write Horror, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and LGBTQIA+ inclusive fiction. they/them/theirs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.