Poets logo

Discordia

There's no escape

By Rae ForrandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

There’s always fire.

I hear the sounds of the waves of the ocean crashing to shore. The salted air creates a hunger within me that can never be satiated. The night sky is filled with stars innumerable and I can see the galaxies swirl and spin. I fall to my knees in the sand, scraping my skin and breathing in salt and smoke and ash.

The world is always turning and I tremble from the motion. No wonder you’re always running from me. I am chaos. I am destruction. I put my hands in the water and it boils, angry, and the fire burns on. Moonlight scars, marking my skin, forever branding me as creature of the dark.

It always burns, the fire. I never really go out, do I? I smell like war. You could sense it, feel it in your fingertips when you ran your hands through my hair, you could feel my vibrations that I was created to fight.

I see everything. I am to blame. Why didn’t you warn me. You never warned me.

I’m a star ready to burst. Maybe it’s better than fading away.

I am the goddess of discord. You knew and you never warned me.

Keep running.

Everyone else does.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Rae Forrand

I love games, particularly those of the 5e variety, and, go figure, I like writing about them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.