Poets logo

Disconnected

An epic tale of love, loss and learnings 🤎

By B.Me Published 8 months ago • 1 min read
1
Disconnected
Photo by Alexander Ant on Unsplash

We were just kids, but I knew right away

Like divine intervention, one fateful day

I hugged you and you didn’t know what to say

How strangely delightful to greet strangers that way

We stumbled and tripped and shied away from the magnitude

In all our teen glory, we were spirit and attitude

And confusion, and heartbreak with sprinkles of gratitude

For I was your compass and you were my latitude

We weren’t always good at connection you see

When I wanted you, you didn’t want me

And when you wanted me, I was with ‘he’

Until one day we got it and we became ‘we’

For a decade we tried, and we tried and we tried

To maintain connection with that fire inside

But I see it more clearly now from the outside

That maybe, just maybe it was all but a lie

Maybe it’s ‘cause you were hurt as a boy

That lead you to treat me like some kind of toy

Or maybe it was all just some kind of ploy

An epic revenge, a wholistic destroy

Attack!! Her upbringing, the spoilt brat!

Attack!! Her confidence, she’s too good at that!

Attack!! Her loved ones, so she’ll keep coming back!

Attack!! Her morality, she won’t know where she’s at!

And for years, I was captured in your twisted spell

In love with Lord Lucifer, living in hell

Burning for you because I knew you so well

But while I searched for our love, you dwelled in your shell

The ‘art of pleasing’ I had all but perfected

To feel safe and loved and less disrespected

But that isn’t right and it’s no longer accepted

For that isn’t love… it’s just disconnected!

love poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

B.Me

An authentic and intimate offering of lived experience and creativity. My only goal is to claim space as I am and practice this modality that provides me with the unique opportunity to reflect and express myself. Feedback is welcomed! B x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    Too many are those who think by belittling others they make themselves look better. Instead we should celebrate each others victories and support each other. When we uplift another we raise ourselves. This poem speaks truth. Nice job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.