Poets logo

Discomfort

Seeking still…

By A.MoriahPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’ve always been one to seek

Discomfort.

It seems easier

And safer,

More sure,

More certain.

Comfort has always seemed to be

Such a fleeting thing.

Perhaps this is why

I fear to let you in,

Into my heart,

Into my soul,

Into my mind.

I never expected

Someone like you

To walk into my life.

And while I claim

To seek discomfort

It’s really the

Inevitable

Discomfort of loss

From whence

I try to hide.

I know

You would never hurt me,

Not with intent.

And yet, I know

It will not last

It’s fated to end

As quickly as it started out.

And will it not

Hurt more

Than if it simply

Never began?

I see warmth and affection

In your eyes.

The way you look at me

Makes me feel more alive.

The truth is

I’m afraid

Of being left, all alone.

And so,

I don’t allow others

The chance to leave,

I don’t allow them in.

Should I do

The same with you,

Allowing it to end

Before it begins?

Or should I accept

This fleeting moment

That will bring

All the things

I try to flee?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A.Moriah

At heart, I am a nature loving, historically enthusiastic, artist and writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.