Poets logo

Dirty Delight

The Beauty of Brown

By Kathryn KingsleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Dirty Delight
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Donning Earth's make-up my face gleamed with happiness

A true happiness I'd never felt until I toiled her garden of barren hue

The sweet potatoes heavy in my basket gave heft to my gait

A small price to have this moment in the soil where I grew

It was in that instance that my gaze fell upon her nakedness

Free of time and space and one with the ground below

I saw my Grumma, raw and bare, clutching the harvest of her labor

I really saw her for the first time, beautiful, freckled, bronzed glow

Hot yellow sun of the southern Summer causing her to perspire

She wiped her brow with the pastel flowered gardening glove

Streaking her face with a lovely red clay Maybelline couldn't replicate

In that very moment she out-shined the cloudless, azure sky above

The garden made us equal, not elder and grand-daughter, just women

Our faces a sun-kissed pink smeared with that beautiful dirty brown

Everyone tilled, everyone dug, everyone pulled those green weedy intruders

Everyone ached, everyone healed, everyone filled their souls with renown

Another Summer had passed and the humid southern Autumn was about

Grumma's crystal blue eyes seemed more weary than the season before

I could still see her grays dancing in the hot orange sun of Summer

And those blueberry eyes reflecting umber Harvest Moons of days of yore

All the colors of the rainbow waltzed about her ethereal being

Yet none had shone so bright and carried as much grace to tease and flirt

Lowly, humble dirt and clay blending rouge and sepia forming glorious awe

Yet none could showcase the beauty of woman like that plain brown dirt

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kathryn Kingsley

I am an alien; I'm sure of it. I'm an enigma, a perfect mess of controlled chaos. I am beauty wrapped in madness. Keep reading for a wild ride inside my fractured mind.

Please share, subscribe, tip and/or pledge to support my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.