Poets logo

Did You Want to See Me Broken? — An Inspirational Poem

Rise above the pain, reclaim your power, and don’t let them break your spirit.

By Naya LizardoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ismael Sánchez on Pexels

Did you want to see me broken,

My heart turned to a pile of dust?

Did you want to watch me suffer,

As I slowly turn to rust?

//

Did you want to see me crying,

My eyes wet with tears of pain?

Did you want to see me beaten,

My heart weighed down by your chains?

//

Did you want me to be weak,

To give up the fight?

And surrender to the darkness,

Letting it consume my light?

//

Did you want to see me broken,

My heart ripped apart by your hands?

Did you want me to be despondent,

With no one to understand?

//

Did you want to see me shattered,

My heart cracked in two?

Did you want to revel in my pain,

And see me looking blue?

//

Did you want me to be silenced,

My voice to never be heard?

Did you want me to surrender,

My dreams and hopes to be blurred?

//

Did you want to see me cowering,

Cringing in my bed?

Did you come to laugh at my distress,

To see my cries of sorrow and dread?

//

Did you want to see me broken,

A shell of what I used to be?

Did you want to keep me hidden,

A picture of what once was me?

//

Did you want me to be helpless,

My will to you to be enslaved?

Did you want me to be nothing,

My worth to you to be depraved?

//

Did you want me to crumble,

To give up and give in?

And let the world around me,

Forget that I had ever been?

//

But my strength is far greater,

Than you would ever know.

My soul will never be broken,

No matter how hard you blow.

//

You thought you’d break me,

But here I remain,

Stronger than ever,

Your plans were all in vain.

//

I stand here victorious,

Amidst the chaos of war.

My soul will not break,

No matter what you had in store.

//

You thought you could break me,

But you were wrong.

For I am a warrior,

And my spirit is too strong.

//

by Naya Lizardo

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Naya Lizardo

Travel addict, writer, knowledge enthusiast and poetry dabbler. I write about relationships, mental health, and social issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.