Poets logo

Did We See?

do we?

By Andrei Z.Published 7 months ago 1 min read
9

We saw what we reap. Pretended not to.

Now these knots are too tangled,

Things too complicated

To see them right through

Any longer. To cut them in two.

They ask: "What's your angle?"

Well, it is overrated, it is oversated,

Obtuse and inflated.

They claim to be angels,

And scam and cram

On dimly lit stages—

So goddamn outrageous.

Yet 'Godspeed!' we utter.

With clatter and splatter,

And utter impudence

They destroy our bonds,

Our thoughts, our lives,

Prey on our obedience,

Thrive on lies,

Spread strife and discord.

I say: screw this world!

I shout: fuck them all!

I swear frantically, and next, I fall

For another trap

Set by propaganda.

Another sunset.

Another dawn. Crap!

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I hate being manipulated by people and media etc… but I love how your poem kind of accepts it (by the end) as you cannot control it… one finds themselves getting sucked into something or rather yet again.. until we find out the truth. It really is an exhausting game. I love the art and angry contemplation of this piece! Kudos!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    "We saw what we reap. Pretended not to. Now these knots are too tangled, Things too complicated To see them right through Any longer. To cut them in two." I find your perspective on society at large to be refreshing in its bluntness. A breath of icy, Everest air (hmm, now your featured image makes even more sense), amongst the knotted suffocation. I bet we could chat about this at length. "I say: screw this world! I shout: fuck them all! I swear frantically, and next, I fall For another trap Set by propaganda. Another sunset. Another dawn. Crap!" You sum it up so well. How easy to fall back into the lies, the web. Emotion seems to thread right through it -- a simple manipulation, really. What a read! Damn. I'm now stuck lamenting the state of things...but I suppose I do that anyway, lol.

  • Harmony Kent7 months ago

    Well said, Andrei! 💕😊

  • You truly spoke for us all here! This was brilliant!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    At first, I thought about climate change, but then just about power, and hope, and compliance, and fatigue. Nice work.

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Such great work as usual! I'm a little sick (and not in the usual way) and not myself, so I decline to say more. Thanks for another great poem.

  • Crap! Ain't that just the way of it. You've quite perfectly described my everyday frustrations with both the world & myself.

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    And so the cycle continues. Great polemic here.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Fantastic poem! Great work! Loved it! We do sew what we reap that’s for sure!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.