Poets logo

How to make tea in darkness

a detailed guideline

By Andrei Z.Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
7
How to make tea in darkness
Photo by opera infinita on Unsplash

If you pour simmering water

Into your mug, shrouded in darkness,

Unable to see, you must learn

How to listen and hear

The water trickling down from

A kettle into the vessel.

Heat rising, climbing up

The porcelain. Watch it!

Reaching for the brim,

It warms your palm.

But it's willing to scald,

Happy to grab your hand,

And peel off your skin.

Watch it! Feel it!

The heat, the sound

Of the trickling water.

Or better make sure that

You pour it at a low

And constant flow rate,

Quickly solve the heat transfer equation

For your mug, and then

You'll know precisely when the heat

Reaches the brim; according to your

Assumptions and calculations,

The water level at this point

Must be 2 centimeters lower.

It's time to stop!

Good timing, indeed.

Now, let your tea bag swell

And color the water.

In the meanwhile,

Grope for the fridge,

Extract a lemon, cut a slice,

And drop the yellow translucent

Disc in your tea.

Enjoy!

P.S. You could have just

Switched on the light

And avoid all that hassle.

how to
7

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    K, I love tea, and this was ringing truth in my memories. I've done this before, in semi-darkness, by the light of the electric kettle in my bedroom (I much prefer a gas fire, but renting makes one compromise one's values a bit). I think I'm not as precise as you; I went too low in the cup, lol. "Reaching for the brim, It warms your palm. But it's willing to scald, Happy to grab your hand, And peel off your skin." Don't scare me off! I think I've just found a new monster for my closet. Jeez!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    I agree that switching on the light is too mainstream. Been done before. This tea of darkness is an untapped market. I love tea, and have actually done this before. My calculations weren't as precise, but somehow I managed. It's those strange moments of life that need to be immortalized!

  • Or used the light from the fridge since you were going to open it anyway.

  • Switching on the light is too mainstream! Pffft! Who even does that anymore? Lol! Loved your poem!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    “Grope for the fringe” is a phrase I won’t be soon forgetting! 🤣 You crack me up. But seriously, I was looking for some deeper meaning and then the ending came… well played Andrei! 😁

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Haha, love the ending. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.