Poets logo

Dickens in a Sundress

a sentient collection of storybooks

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read

I have lived many times

Too many to count.

My past

Resembles a bookshelf

Full of eclectic stories

Misprints of classics

With missing pages

Organized by color

Instead of chronologically

Or by subject

I was born old,

But,

Unlike Merlin,

I did not age sdrawkcab

I burst from my mother's brain

Fully formed

But with no armor

Or wisdom

To protect me

I had find those myself

I had a voice

No one could hear

Like Kassandra of Troy

I made my home

In a small cell

With no escape

Yet the nightmares

Always found

Their way in

I was punished

A thousand times

For crimes

I was not guilty of

Surrounded by stone men

Without even snakes

For company

I pushed those stone men up a hill

But there were always more

And the task proved impossible

I was left in the woods

More than once

Collecting many tales

While I wandered

I held up

Cutouts of animals

To reflect shadows

On cave walls

So others

Could find

Their own

Enlightenment

Even if that meant

Giving up

My own

I cleaned up

After hundreds of evil

Step mothers

Though I never saw

Any prince

I never found my dragon

My space ship

My wardrobe

My self portrait

My slippers

My doctor

My incarnation

My secret garden

My mountain top

My talking animals

I was my own hero

Despite the fact

That I would prefer not to

Be

I have spent my entire life locked away

in my own head,

in a broom closet

covered with flaking yellow wallpaper

and my heart beating

under the

floorboards;

my ill spirit sobbing

where no one can hear.

Looking back in time

All I see

Are books

On a shelf

I would rather not

Read again.

...Yet they are all I have

vintage

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Guenneth SpeldrongWritten by Guenneth Speldrong

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.