Poets logo

Devotion & Desire

She is mine.

By Carol ShupardPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Devotion & Desire

I have known her for sometime

While I fought off many before her

You see I am a typical woman

Stricken with all the plagues of the world

I am taunted by passion

Made a fool of by allure

Ran a wreck by seduction

And had my mind blown by temptation

Now I have seen her before

At the time I did not know her name

With her stone look and sassy ways

She spoke to me, and with the simplest word, I was hooked

After all that I had endured, she had finally come to me

And her name,

Was Devotion

I finally found the one thing that none of the others ever dreamed to offer

As I got to know her, what too many might seem to be a simple task

You see Devotion was like no other

She was not just a shallow shell

Pretending to care for me, all the while using me

Devotion, she’s a different breed

So I did the one smart thing in my life

After all of the tricks and smoke screens

I made her my wife

Now, I thought I had been through them all

No more temptation although my heart and mind she did impress

Like a ton of bricks, she hit me

In an instance, Desire set my soul on fire

Unable to deny her a taste

As she wrapped her arms around me

All my cares began to fade away

No more troubles, no more memories of how things us to be

While in this deadly mist

I could feel my life slowly leaving me

The energy it took to sustain me was too much to bear

As I found the strength to turn

As I did, I sighed, and found again my Devotion

To tempt heaven and hell was too much for me

See, I know now the love it takes

Is not from the fire of passion

Or the attraction from allure

Not even seduction or temptation

Could put blinders on my eyes

I have found my partner, my friend

My spiritual guide

My devoted Queen

By no means do Devotion & Desire compare

For each one is unique an has left a mark on my soul

Yet, I am older now

I cherish the love that I now know

She is my Devotion

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Carol Shupard

I am a disabled individual with psoriatic arthritis, osteoarthritis, fibromylagia, and some mental health issues. I love researching things, writing poetry, and ghost hunting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.