Poets logo

Devil’s Been Talking Bad

An Archive Production

By Conrad IlesiaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1

I

Someone's been talking about you

Behind your back;

Someone's spreading lies about you

Like an old time hack.

Someone's been saying things

I know can't be true;

Someone's been throwing slings

All over town about you.

The devil's been talking bad

To anyone who would believe.

I can't sleep in my bed;

It makes me want to leave.

II

A

Devil's been talking bad about you;

It is about to drive me mad;

Devil's saying maybe I've been had

And I'm shaking my fist at you.

The devil's voice becomes a yell in my ear

And someone's talking nice about you—

He’s whispering good things about you

But I haven't heard a word in over a year.

Devil's talking bad,

Taking my head for a spin;

Devil's taking my hand,

Looking at me with a grin.

B

Devil's been talking bad about you--

Someone else is talking good--

They are making a split in this old brain,

Round and round, driving me insane.

Friendship
1

About the Creator

Conrad Ilesia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Conrad Ilesia is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.