Poets logo

Destination song

Your screaming won't make me lose my voice  We all have the same rights and you won't take my choice

By Laura ToddPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
coffee

Head held down and I'm tastin the ground

But I'm not underwater, I'm not gonna drown

If I look back now all I ever will see

Has been already lived, not a dream left to be

In the midst of the world I am here

Giving up everything for all that I hold dear

If this is not my final destination

I'm not gonna stop

I'm not gonna stop

You can hold me back

But at my back

Is destiny

Ears are ringing, the pain's getting loud

But I won't heal the wounds by hiding in the crowd

If I give up now, all I ever will do 

Is join with the many to hold down the few

I don't hear every voice on the news

But they haven't been silenced, I still get to choose

If this is not my final destination

I'm not gonna stop

I'm not gonna stop

You can hold me back

But at my back

Is destiny

I won't keep still just to live

Trapped in the land of the free

There's nothing left I won't give

I'll choose my own destiny

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.