Poets logo

Dessimated

Break ups am I right?

By Becca VegaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dessimation

It was bright and blue outside.

The sun and sky peppered in clouds.

It was bright and warm outside.

The fresh cut grass blowing its fresh cut smell.

A million leafy deaths swirling all around.

It would come and go, in tides.

Eventually leaving my senses all together.

The meadow was vast.

One solid, sturdy old tree in the middle of it.

The tree had scars up and down its trunk.

Years of storms beating down on it.

Animals making homes in it.

Children racing to the top of it.

The stories it must have, deep in its roots.

I stood wondering the great tree.

It's existence to me and I to it.

I stood waiting.

He walked up slowly towards me.

I could feel the breath escape my lungs.

He looked sad at first, contemplating.

Then determined.

And said,

He could not do what I had asked of him.

It was to hard.

He could not betray her.

She was too strong.

He to weak.

I was outside myself then.

Looking in on the conversation.

It wasn't me he was speaking too.

Someone else.

He didn't look me in the eye once.

He stood there and broke it.

A small, fist sized organ.

It had beat happily, naively.

Now gloomy, guarded.

I sat down on the green ocean as vast as the blue one.

I felt the earth poking underneath me.

The coarse skin of the tree behind me.

I could smell the cold wind as it breezed by.

I could see the tree's shadows all around me.

I could feel the rush of frigid air on my body.

The hairs at the small of my neck stood up.

I was cold. I was always cold.

All I could think of was his warmth.

He was always warm.

He was always there and always warm.

Always in arms reach to keep me warm.

He would wrap his body and mind all over me.

He would keep the cold world away.

I yelled to him,

I wasn't asking for much.

I asked for one thing.

One thing only.

To give her up.

She was a pale thing.

Bitter and without care.

She couldn't and wouldn't do anything for him.

She gave his life excitement for a little while.

She gave his life for a little while.

He knew of nothing else but her.

He never knew of me.

He never knew of anything.

And I spoke to him.

And I spoke to the tiny spark in his soul.

And I spoke to the minuscule life he had left.

He thought she was the means for a fire.

He did not realize it then.

She would burn him,

With the icy snow inside her veins.

I would cool him,

With the gentle sunlight inside my soul.

The Moon, needs the Sun to be seen.

The Earth, needs the Moon to be balanced.

One cannot be without the other.

He walked away then.

The outside of me looking in.

Confused and alone.

I came back to my body.

Peeking from behind the tree.

The women he walked away from was gone.

Her and I were not one.

She was a pale thing.

A bitter and uncaring thing.

I looked up at the great tree.

The rays of light poking through its leaves kept me warm for a while.

I needed him.

The coldness was consuming me.

It was bright and blue outside.

The sun and sky peppered in clouds.

It was dark and cold inside.

My heart and soul dessimated.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.