Poets logo

You play Call of Duty?

Sweet.

By Becca VegaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I always thought getting an explanation of why you are the way that you are would be helpful.

I thought it would make someone feel better to know that they're not crazy.

That they just have some sort of chemical imbalance.

A mutation in the gene, you know.

Something out of someone’s control should put them at ease somewhat.

When I figured out I had ADHD I thought,

“Okay sweet I’m not just a lazy piece of shit.”

I was somewhat relieved you could say. A little satisfied perhaps.

But then came the sudden and overwhelming realization of my own brain.

Mine own self.

I would nit-pick at every little thing I did.

Every movement I made,

every thought I had, 


every muscle that moved,

knuckle that popped,

itch I had,

felling,

smell,

touch.

Everything.

I was constantly asking myself, “Is it me? No, it’s the ADHD.”

Well, then I’d think, “The ADHD is me, I am the ADHD.”

And It drove me mad, you see.

It drove me to madness.

It got behind the wheel and drove.

Straight to mad town.

Anyone else there?

You mad too?

You also “figure” it out on your own?

Self-diagnosed?

Yeah?

Same.

Guess I am just a lazy piece of shit.

What can you do, am I right?

You play Call of Duty?

Sweet.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.