Poets logo

Desire...

A Poem By Ken Cruz

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Pages turn

Feelings like soft embers burn

Like ashes spilled from an urn

My heart begins to yearn

Whispers echo in my head

Most would rather be sedated or dead

Such a fine line I must tread

I wonder, if for this I was bred

For death seems like peace

But I choose to survive instead

Always trying to escape an unseen enemy

Albeit I don’t know if it lurks in my head

Or perhaps in my heart

Or maybe it’s an unseen force

That spreads across the land like a plague

Leaving darkness in its wake

As souls it wishes to take

Preying on those weak or suffering heartache

Perhaps it’s already inside

like a cake left in the oven to slowly bake

Rising at a certain time

Leading many to their demise

Still I try to surmise

And rather than be conquered I try to rise

Hoping along the way I’ll find my prize

Some golden ticket that opens my eyes

Hoping someone has witnessed my tries

And heard my cries

But it’s been a long time since an epiphany has come and left me mesmerized

And with each passing day

a little piece of me dies

Life rotting meat attacked by flies

Or a willow’s catkins blow In the breeze

For my heart seems lost

unable to be appeased

My gut an eternal woke beast

On my consciousness it feeds

Telling me to be guarded and feast

For we are predators or prey

Livestock and cattle to be slayed

Or hunters to take home our bounty at the end of the day

At night I lay awake inside my head

Tossing and turning in my bed

The turbines of my brain

Cause me too much conflict and pain

Thoughts and longing for an escape

from this life so disdain

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.