Poets logo

Desert Star

A Dream in a Bottle

By Insinq DatumPublished 24 days ago 6 min read
1
Desert Star
Photo by Moasis Productions on Unsplash

O flower fair, how do you dare

To bloom in want of watered land

How can you stand, on grains of sand

Perfume to send upon this air

x

That strips you bare of liquid love

With no regard for your own needs

With push and pull and yank and shove

They say that hate grows from griefseeds

x

Where grief is love that's lost its way

When rain won't come, though come what may

And yet instead you understand

You seek to take them by the hand

x

And show in no uncertain terms

That only they can bring to bloom

The seeds buried within, the germs

That come to life to light the loom

x

Illuminate the world one weaves

And through it see themselves anew

To glimpse the tree trunk through the leaves

And draw from patterned bark a clue

x

All this and more your scent reveals

Your raven hair and voice of gold

Appear to me as holy seals

As of my soul a dream takes hold

x

In it I see a future life

I am your man, and you my wife

We have a home, and children too

I hope one day it might come true

x

But when I tried to reach and grab

Try as I might, I'd cut and stab

The spark I was trying to keep

Instead fell more and more asleep

x

One cannot own the flower's bloom

Trying only hastens its doom

And if you truly loved the thing

You'd only seek to help it sing

x

You'd never cut its breathing off

Or hush it up when it cries out

At its complaints, you would not scoff

You'd learn to love to see them sprout

x

She doesn't need your rescuing

She's learnt to thrive out here alone

It's self-love she's been pursuing

She doesn't want to be your clone

x

Just leave her be, she's perfectly

Alright right there all by herself

You do not need to touch to see

She will not live upon your shelf

x

You must move on and walk your path

Resume your search for distant shores

Perhaps once you have quelled your wrath

You'll find the world in which she's yours

x

And there you'll hold her in your arms

But only if you leave her here

Resist the mistress and her charms

Follow your heart, straight as the spear

x

The sword once caught within the stone

The keenest mind can cut the knot

Unlock the crown and secret throne

Beware, for rings belie the rot

x

Of simple men in stations high

Who think their wisdom makes them just

They propagate their noble lie

Polished veneer conceals the rust

x

It seems men stray most ev'ry day

One needs a way to check one's course

A map of sorts so we don't stray

When lured away by shadow's force

x

If one could learn to read the stars

Or read what's written in remorse

One might find lore within one's scars

And come full circle to the source

x

The source of water and of growth

The wind that sent your scent to me

The love that animates the oath

Upon its wings, my destiny

x

The desert star that marks the road

The way, the path, the arc, the code

The timeless tome, the secret now

The way to Rome, the sacred vow

x

Follow the perfume on the wind

It leads to wells that plumb the Ground

Re-sight the star each time you've sinned

And missed the mark, that silent sound

x

Always recall your ev'ry dream

Especially when they recur

For things are not quite as they seem

And from such hints one can infer

x

Just what it is that we forgot

And how we could have lost the plot

So badly that we tied this knot

That we forgot that we forgot

x

That we got lost among the noise

And found ourselves, with little poise

Having to say just what was what

And how we wound up in this spot

x

For this, I have a magic trick

A secret cure, occult liqueur

A rhyme, a lime, a limerick

Pure poetry alone endures

x

In it, Miss Mneme does meet her match

And from this match is born a flame

A flame of love will surely catch

And thus call forth its own true name

x

So let me paint my world with words

While you look on from eyes of birds

This rhyme is light to guide my feet

I'll only march to our heartbeat

x

xx

x

I wandered through the sands so long

I almost wondered if I'd died

I suffered from a thirst so strong

I would have, if I could have, cried

x

My ev'ry hope was a mirage

Sleepwalking through these silent sands

Engaged in constant sabotage

Of self while wearing mourning bands

x

When suddenly I saw a light

It led me to a long lost sea

Forgotten while hidden from sight

All that was left was the debris

x

Yet in the fractal fragments there

Within the shells on endless shore

There lay a whisper of a pray'r

In it, I heard the ocean roar

x

In fact, much more yet lies in store

For those who seek the secret song

It clearly states in ancient lore

That souls will find where they belong

x

Only by knowing who they are

To know the nature of one's soul

One must follow the Northern star

To find the ones who make us whole

x

The world drops hints time after time

It points them out, the cosmic mime

The resonance echoes throughout

One's being and erases doubt

x

And that's when She appears onstage

So beautiful at any age

Her grace transcends the bounds of speech

Compared to Her, tis but a screech

x

Too crude to capture Harmony

Embracing her's beyond my skill

With words, though it's my destiny

To try and try, so try I will

x

Wide open eyes and pricked up ears

So unafraid to face her fears

There's innocence upon her face

She's curious about this place

x

She's light of touch and bright of heart

And slow to warm to the unknown

But if she knew you from the start

It would be like a switch was thrown

x

Where once was darkness now reigns day

Her soul now soars and wants to play

She's cheeky and she's clever too

The only one I want is you

x

You are the woman of my dreams

You see through me, spot all my seams

And I adore that you can see

All sides of me with clarity

x

To me, you were a longed-for rain

For desiccation was my bane

But you supplied a healing touch

For my sake you have done so much

x

And gone so far with little food

While making sure I got enough

And all the while you're getting viewed

As distant, cold and not as tough

x

My genie's wish, it came too true

I didn't know what I'd asked for

In wanting one who'd love me too

And yet who'd see through my amor

x

To what was really going on

Beneath my words, under my mask

To recognize I run a con

Upon myself - but why? you ask

x

So that I can escape my fear

That one day I will feel regret

For how I've spent each wayward year

For trying hard and failing yet

x

For realizing that I'm too much

Or maybe not enough, it seems

Too closely, that I always clutch

I love to lurk at the extremes

x

Perfection or failure complete

I won't abide by shades of grey

But black or white, a heart will beat

And right or wrong, a tongue will say

x

All that which it truly believes

No matter if it's grim or gay

It will echo what it perceives

The honest heart sends forth a ray

x

Wise men will follow where it leads

No matter how the path may twist

But only one who truly reads

The signs can trump the shadow-kissed

x

I looked upon your flower form

And saw a dream so bright and warm

It was a calling to transform

It made me want to brave the storm

x

A well, a home, my belle, a hearth

A well-loved tome, a bed and bath

Somewhere to lay my sleepy head

With room for four rugrats, well-fed

x

On mischief and indulgences

Affectionate and loving hands

Can handle all divulgences

Behaviour of all diff'rent brands

x

A dream it was: I dream it still

I yearn to be the one to fill

Your cup, to earn the right to stand

Right by your side and claim the land

x

As mine and yours - that which is ours

The life we built so we could share

The days, the years and all the hours

And ev'ry second we could spare

x

Remembering our own love-lore

And living it each ev'ry day

I will locate the hidden door

No matter what, I'll find a way.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    This was so breathtakingly beautiful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.