Poets logo

Derelict

Poppy's Prompts #3

By Matthew FrommPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Derelict
Photo by Lee Blanchflower on Unsplash

Once, it brought us to life

You lauded this renovation

Hailed it

“Our greatest accomplishment.”

“Our True North”

Then we got the news

How long ago was that now?

A week?

A year?

A decade?

Now,

Spiderwebs dangle from the rafters above

While dirt buries the wood floor below

The mold–this sickness

Consumes more and more,

Day by day

Cell by cell

Just like…

No.

I can’t dwell here anymore

If I do

My compass spins

North to south

South to north

Out of control

I turn toward the door

There’s nothing left here

Except for the memory of you

I know I should go, yet

I can’t ever leave

This derelict home

My mind–

And heart’s

Become

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

Written for Poppy's Prompts #3. Info below:

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetryperformance poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreakFree VerseFamilyexcerpts

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    Well deserved Runner Up placing in Poppy’s March Prompts! ✅

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Congrats on runner up. I have to second Oneg’s comment. The pacing was perfect.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Absolutely captivating! The emotion and imagery in this is perfect! Too many favourite lines to point them out!

  • Ohh I loved the ending especially… This was a really unexpected surprise! I like that you kept the metaphor hidden until this reveal….

  • Kelsey Clarey4 months ago

    This one was a tearjerker for me. Great work!

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    Really love the pacing in this, and how it sped up but then the end really slowed with that intense effect

  • Beautifully written… I always feel sad seeing derelict homes etc.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    You caught me up with "once" and I couldn't stop reading. As Hannah said, excellent. I was particularly moved by the final four lines. "This derelict home My mind– And heart’s Become" Almost like the speaker wants to return, doesn't want this to be the end. Yet, it is. How tragic, indeed.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This is excellent, that arresting of dreams.

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    This is full of melancholy pathos; deftly done!

Matthew FrommWritten by Matthew Fromm

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.