Poets logo

Derealization

A Villanelle Poem

By Katherine BodgerPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Derealization
Photo by XVIIIZZ on Unsplash

I was in my room when I lost my mind,

Like most of my dreams I waited to wake up and die,

But I never did and I think it’s a luxury I’ll never find.

I think the world left me behind,

People are happy to have a bad day then get up and retry,

While I’m watching the clock trying to understand how the hours are defined.

I’m sleeping, dreaming, I must be trapped inside my mind,

I must be- that’s why I’m too tired to cry but too scared to die,

And can’t care to do the things by which I used to be defined.

Maybe this is just how I was designed,

Doomed to walk through life like it’s a wall and I’m a fly,

The brightness of the world has declined.

So why do I continue the “ daily grind”,

Why am I so aware that none of this is fine,

How do I know that I haven’t been improved and redefined?

I thought I was tangled in knots I needed to unwind,

But maybe my awareness was just an alibi…

I’m awake now and know the meaning of life is something I won’t find,

Because it was never there- I just used to be blind.

sad poetryVillanelleMental Health

About the Creator

Katherine Bodger

I’ve always loved to write. Whether or not I’m any good, well, that’s for others to decide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was extremely relatable. So sorry you're feeling this way too. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Katherine BodgerWritten by Katherine Bodger

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.