Poets logo

Grieve You/Become You

A Villanelle Poem

By Katherine BodgerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Grieve You/Become You
Photo by Nigel Tadyanehondo on Unsplash

No one told me how not to become you,

They told me how to grieve and get through my day,

They gave me the advice I didn’t need them to.

No one told me how not to do what you do,

Never said a word when I took your role during the holidays,

They told me to grieve you.

I sort of did- at least I tried to,

Started to go fishing without you by the bay,

Dressed, talked, acted- I even walked like you.

I didn’t need to know how to grieve you,

I took my time to miss you and let memories replay,

This wasn’t something I could get through.

I needed to know how not to turn into you,

Yet regarding that no one had anything to say,

I’m disappointed in myself and I know you would be too.

No one told me how not to become you.

Maybe they’re happy that I’m the one who disappeared so you could stay,

No one told me not to become you,

So that’s exactly what I managed to do.

sad poetryVillanelle

About the Creator

Katherine Bodger

I’ve always loved to write. Whether or not I’m any good, well, that’s for others to decide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    Your words capture the struggle of trying to define yourself while grappling with the shadow of someone you've lost. So raw!! Love this! Keep expressing and growing!

Katherine BodgerWritten by Katherine Bodger

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.