Poets logo

Derailed

An epistolary

By Hannah MoorePublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
5
Derailed
Photo by Dan Gribbin on Unsplash

Dear George,

I heard you come in late last night,

Stealthy in the hall below.

I heard you making toast, I think,

Though no smell stirred my appetite.

*

Last week I saw you on the street,

Not where you should have been.

I stood and watched you walk away,

My ribs a cage for my heart beat.

*

I cooked your favourite weekend treat,

And laid your place for you.

You never came to sit with me.

Alone, I did not want to eat.

*

In a shop, I smelled you pass me,

On someone else’s skin.

You wafted through the citrus fruit,

And I was lost in memory.

*

At night I reach to pull you near,

To feel there’s nothing there.

I love you still, but George, I’m angry,

You chose to go, and leave me here.

*

So if you find this note jarring,

It’s how it feels to live,

The rhythms off, the rhymes abnormal,

The pattern of my bitter grief.

Sincerely

Sam

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.