Poets logo

Depth and breadth and height

"I love thee with the breath, smiles, tears of all my life!" - Elizabeth Barrett Browning

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
photo: Pixabay

First Date

Under the table

at lunch our hands touched -- one spark

set the woods on fire

...

First Anniversary

Even in embrace

sometimes the space between us

makes it hard to breathe

...

First Child

Delta: two bodies

of water pour into one ...

Also, rate of change

...

Last Breath

Under gnawing earth,

we will reach beyond our graves

to clasp bony hands

* * *

.

Thank you for reading. Here's another four-part haiku I'd like to share with you:

love poems
3

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dooney Potterabout a year ago

    A love life’s journey in four poems: and in haiku form! What a feat. So much is said in the negative space between each carefully chosen word, which act like seeds and catalysts for the reader to fill in the rest. Like the DNA helix ot a love story. I like the cyclical connection between the first and the last haiku, using touch as a link. I can feel the fire in the first and lost my breath in the second. The image if the delta and the two rivers in conjunction to create an entire ocean has so much hidden beneath those words. Made me think of all the work parents put into raising a child, like the trickle of two rivers trying to fill an ocean. Rate of change! What a great way to put it (will leave what i think it means for other readers to interpret) and the biting image of the gnawing earth, conjuring worms and the whole process in a few words. Bravo. I hope a set of haikus like this represents my life with my beloved. 🥰

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Well said....!!!

  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed the first one. Great poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is incredibly beautiful. Well done.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Fantastic ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.