Poets logo

Depression

From the archive

By Zahrah BlomPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Depression
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

The silent killer has creeped back into my bed

I thought I was over him for good

But it’s almost as if my life craves his return

Bittersweet connection

The memories

The pain

The tears

All came back when he crept back into my bed

He makes himself comfortable as if he never left

He’s unpacked and for sure he’s not going for a while

Like a shadow on a sunny day, he is there, breathing in all of my good air

And no matter where I try to hide

He always finds me

All alone

Even with him following me around

Thing is, no one sees him but me

In corners, in cracks and in the smiles of those I love

Standing next to my happiest memories

Always reminding me that nothing good lasts forever

I’m undeserving of the bright side

I’m unworthy to see the greener side

A good for nothing waste of space

He reminds me of all I can not achieve and all I will never be able to accomplish

As he pushes me further and further away from me

But I’ll be good

I’m always good

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Zahrah Blom

Afro-Indigenous

NYC

Mother

Artist

Writer

Creator

Facilitator

Seer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.