Poets logo

Depression is a Thief

It can happen to all

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Depression is a Thief
Photo by Tammy Gann on Unsplash

Is life so simple, are you still above ground, are you drowning- down, down, in a sea of concern

Is the music still playing, are the chords of sound, are you singing my hymn

Are the angels crying, are their souls abound, is your body decaying, as our existence leads us to the ground.

Do you sing any song, don't consign to the grave - for this is your day

Won't you seek the hand, the ones that can assist, you don't need to be alone; you're not alone.

Standing isolated in a rain of self-hate will only lead to more harm - let me be your shelter on this day.

Please don't leave this world; it's not your time

For we're not ready to say goodbye

There exists a fear that most can not hear

But I tell you there is a way - there is a way.

I don't know what it's like to feel your heart; you're suffering, you're undoing.

You asked me questions; you gave clues; I'm sorry I didn't hear them come through.

We were best of friends, went through it all, up until that last, the final call.

You stopped singing; you silenced it all. When did you stop believing in life; after That telephone ring?

I can recite that conversation, and it makes me so angry - you lead me to believe that you were joking.

I live with that day; it will always haunt me. You hung the next day, but I still hang in purgatory.

Depression is real

Depression won't heal

Depression can be treated

Depression is a criminal, that loves to steal.

Depression has no color, it knows no bounds

Depression took my friend.

Know the signs, call for help, don't let Depression steal another childhood friend.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.