Poets logo

Déjà Vu II: Another One Forced Into Hiding

I've been there before...

By Josh MorganPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
Déjà Vu II: Another One Forced Into Hiding
Photo by Norbert Tóth on Unsplash

There he was

Standing in silence

Shouting in the mirror

His eyes hid,

His tongue, a ferocious whip

Hatred dripped from his lips

I can see him

And all the memories that haunt him

I wish I my words would reach him

I hope one day he hears this,

To quiet the voices that taunt him

To save him from where the temporal concerns have brought him

If he reads this maybe he'll see them

The lies for what they are

All he doesn't need to hold onto

Maybe he'll see then,

That it's not wrong to,

Want for himself

Think to himself

And BE himself

But,

His self-flagellation is the product of lies of seduction-

His frustration with himself is to the world's instruction

Even the strongest man in the world can't lift his own spirit

Because of what society has taken from him

HE, is what the public has taken from him

Replaced with such weight placed on his shoulders

Society's notoriety grows heavier by the day

He's erased himself, and all that he would say

So his eyes do all the talking

His absence shows the stride he's walking

The world may see pride,

I see someone forced to hide

But I can see him

In his mirror, and mine

I hope he reads this, I hope he finds the time

To take his time

For himself

social commentarysad poetryMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Gosh this was so intense and emotional. I loved it!

Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.