Poets logo

Déjà Vu

I know these faces. I know this road.

By Anathi BunganiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

And here we go again, another inevitable loss to this unknown mysterious cunning person. I have played this game a million times yet I am still unfamiliar with the rules. Perhaps it's because the rules change every time I play. The game is beautiful, something out of this world—an extraterrestrial. It's laced with red Rose's and lavenders in the beginning and I almost feel like a sailor on a serene sea but with time all the skills I have at playing seem to disappear and I am left defenseless. I always get stuck at at the same place because of a similar reason, I've lost more times that I have ever won, tell me this then, how can I be optimistic when I live in a pessimistic world? I've read this book before, I know the ending but the heartbreak doubles every time I read it. It's painful that my favourite character is the ill fated one however what truly tores my heart is that the book ends. We run out of pages and the ink slowly disappears. It's hard to accept but everything ends with time. It's fate's twisted way of showing us that he still got the upper hand.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Anathi Bungani

I was born and bred in Tabankulu, a small town in the Eastern Cape province in South Africa. I was born on 10 June 1999 and I am a writer. I used to recite poems in High School too. Please rate, share and tip my work. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.