Poets logo

Defenestration

To throw someone from a window.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12

Defenestration;

I know what the word means but

Saying it is half the fun.

‘To throw someone from a window.’

Rarely a necessary word to use,

And yet it is still my favourite word.

Chances are I will use it in conversation,

The purpose of which is to answer the question ‘what is your favourite word?’

In my defence, English is full of words that are in no way useful and would

Otherwise fade into the background, unless you

Need a rather enthusiastic distraction.

humor
12

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.11 months ago

    It definitely is a very interesting word :) Honestly, you taught me something here 😅 I really enjoyed this take on the challenge!! 🤗❤️

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I love that word too 🤣🤣

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    While defenestration is beyond doubt one of the greatest singular words to grace the English language in my opinion, there are various words I love. Whether I am in a fracas or kerfuffle, or I have been bamboozled and flabbergasted, or the goings-on are rather sanguine or convivial. Words are just fun 😆

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    This is so original and funny. Why are we throwing people from windows i wonder. I learned a new word today.

  • Nice📝❤️❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.