Poets logo

Deeper Than Skin

A Haunting Within

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Deeper Than Skin
Photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

I made space in my heart

For you to find warmth

And you shred it apart

With an icy thorn

I made space in my head

For you to fit

By Andrey Grinkevich on Unsplash

Lost myself in pieces that spread

Bit by little bit

Allowed you to dismantle

My fragile being

Because you couldn't handle

What you were really seeing

You had built a mold

Expecting me to fall into place

Stretched thin within your hold

Until I felt myself slowly erase

Becoming a mere fragment

Of who I once had been

Becoming stagnant

A stranger in my own skin

Trapped inside a body

That acted as a host

By Anton Maksimov 5642.su on Unsplash

Set on being the copy

You wanted to see the most

But bits of my real

Could not be contained

And escaped me still

Despite my restraint

By Jordy Meow on Unsplash

I have since tried to regain

The debris of me strewn

Albeit, in vain

As you have left me no room

You may now be gone from me

You may now live on a different coast

However, it's only physically

Because still resides your ghost

By Dan V on Unsplash

Constantly rattling around upstairs

Always making your presence known

Just when I think you're no longer there

You remind me you will never

Leave me alone

By Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreakart
1

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara 9 months ago

    I feel this in my bones. So beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.