Poets logo

Deep and Dark

Poetry

By Jennifer RyanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I sit outside until I can breathe

Spring is nostalgia wrapped in blackberry vines

The only things I grow have thorns

Cactus, rose, those brambles

Of sweet pre-berry pain

I walk this like a tightrope

Undo the work you did

To make myself new

To make this place mine.

Clear the land enough to build a fire

And burn it away

Sleeping beauty would be safe

In this house

I curve the roses into walls

Braid them into chainlink

Ignoring the sweet sting on my hands

I sit outside in trees enough

To make a forest deep and dark to hide in

I will need more than breadcrumbs

To forge a way back home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Ryan

Im a writer, dreamer, and passionate lover of cake and most robots. I run a fairly large professional company, so having this outlet to express myself in a more creative way is absolutely necessary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.