Poets logo

December Reflections

Looking Back to Plan Ahead

By Analise DionnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
20
December Reflections
Photo by Yeshi Kangrang on Unsplash

Am I the only one

Who gets lost inside their head?

Especially come December.

Looking back

Reflecting on a year

We'll soon lay to rest.

Wondering what lies ahead.

Only this year

Reflections roll back further

Years, a lifetime,

Perhaps even more.

This has been a year

That stripped me

To the barest essence of my soul.

Grasping for dreams

But coming up empty.

Too much time

I have spent

Racing for others

Chasing someone else's dreams.

Building up my loved ones

My self I did forget.

No one thought to ask

If my soul needed

Warmth, nourishment, love.

Through the night

The wind has roared.

Begging me to,

Let it carry all away.

Don't wallow in the garbage

Others laid upon your step.

The wind wants those burdens.

I don't own them anyway.

Too long they've cast dark shadows

In the corners of my heart.

Soon the light will come.

But first to let the darkness go

The wind can carry it

Far, far away.

Leaving me alone

With my true self,

Authenticity.

Joy and laughter can return.

Love can fill my heart

If I can only anchor

To my truest self

Lost so long ago

When I took on others' pain.

Never mine to carry

But I did it anyway.

Soon the sun will rise again

And bathe me in her warmth.

Stripped down

To the barest essence of my soul

Mother Earth begs for reconnection

To my true self.

She will give me

Warmth, nourishment, love.

She'll help me blossom

As my true, authentic self.

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Analise Dionn

This life began with trauma. Now married, with 2 adult children and raising a grandchild with FASD/PTSD/ADHD. Navigating this very personal journey of healing with ADHD, thriving after a lifetime of abuse... all through the grace of God.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.